Executive Board President
County Board of Supervisor Debbie Arnold

Executive Director
Dan Turner manager@fscslo.org

San Luis Obispo County

Fire Safe Council

Since its formation the Council has united its diverse membership to speak with one voice about fire safety.  Below are the Agencies, Associations and Districts that hold seats to the SLOCCFSC voting board.

2022 Board of Directors


“The San Luis Obispo County Community Fire Safe Council, Inc is a diverse collaborative group dedicated to creating a Fire Safe environment through education, partnerships, and action.”

Incorporated 2001

501(c)(3) Non profit organization since 2001


State FireSafe Council

Since its formation in April 1993, the Council has united its diverse membership to speak with one voice about fire safety. 

How the FireSafe Council Functions: The name “California Fire Safe Council” (CFSC) has been used for two very different organizations. The original use of the name, from 1993 through mid-2002, referred to a loose consortium of local community-based fire safe councils and other organizations that shared the mission of making California’s communities less vulnerable to catastrophic wildfire. It was funded by the state of California Resources Agency, Department of Conservation,  CAL FIRE. It was led by staff from the CAL FIRE Prevention Bureau.             

SLO County FireSafe Council

Established in 1999, the Officers and Board of Directors meet on a regularly scheduled basis to review the operations of the SLOCCFSC.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Provides direction to the decisions and policies of the SLOCCFSC to advise and provide oversite to facilitate meeting the project goals and funding needs through grant opportunities.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS: Comprised of diverse stakeholder groups from San Luis Obispo County. Representatives may be from the Citizens of San Luis Obispo County, Private Sector, Local Businesses and various federal, state, and local government agencies.

Local Community Focus Groups

Focus Groups are Fire Safe Council local community groups that concentrate on specific projects that carry out Fire Safe Council goals and objectives. Focus groups may be ad hoc or stand as a permanent organization and serve as agents of the Fire Safe Council for approved activities and projects.


  • City of Atascadero
  • Barron / Squire
  • Cambria
  • Davis / See Canyon
  • Los Osos
  • Las Vantanas
  • Oak Shores
  • City of Pismo Beach
  • Ranchita Estates